LibGuides: Animation and Game Arts: Professional Development Resources

Introduction

To help prepare for your careers and to continue your development even after you graduate, consider joining an association or society, enrolling in professional development courses, entering film competitions, or exploring professional groups for networking. Some of these available resources can be found below.

Professional Development

Resources:

11 Second Club
A monthly character animation competition with forums for feedback and networking.
Animation World Network
Animation World network provides readers from over 151 countries with a wide range of interesting, relevant and helpful information pertaining to all aspects of animation.
Canada Comics Open Library
The Canada Comics Open Library (CCOL) is a registered non-profit organization that aims to be an inclusive, educational, and recreational public space for comics and graphics novels while showcasing the work of Canadian comic artists and supporting comics communities.
Canadian Animation Directory
The Canadian Animation Directory is an accurate and comprehensive guide to the Canadian Animation industry. Covering a broad spectrum of Canada’s animation scene, it highlights existing
and emerging production companies, funding agencies , schools and post-production services.
Cartoon Brew
Cartoon Brew delivers the latest news, trends and ideas in animation to over 25,000 different artists and animation professionals.
Cartoon North
Bringing together the Canadian Animation community to provide access to jobs, news and other resources.
Cartoon Research
A website dedicated to classic cartoons past, present, and future.

Associations & Societies:

International Animated Film Association
An international network of animated film artists and association chapters.
Quickdraw Animation Society
Quickdraw Animation Society is a member driven not-for-profit that fosters a creative community through resources and opportunities that further animation arts and culture.
Toronto Animated Image Society (TAIS)
An artist run production centre where independent artists can create, explore, research and develop skills in traditional and experimental animation techniques.
Women in Animation
Join the 5,500+ WIA members around the globe who are committed to WIA’s mission of empowering and advocating for women and gender non-conforming people in animation, VFX, and gaming.

Associations & Societies:

Canadian Game Studies Association
An organization dedicated to the interdisciplinary study of digital games. Its primary goal is to support the work of Canadian researchers, graduate students, artists, game designers, programmers, theorists, and others working in this field, and will also attempt to provide opportunities for interdisciplinary collaboration and cross-disciplinary support for its members.
Digital Games Research Association
An international association for academics and professionals who research digital games and associated phenomena.
Entertainment Software Association of Canada
ESAC represents major video game console makers, publishers, large and small independent developers as well as national distributors.
International Game Developers Association (IGDA)
The International Game Developers Association (IGDA) is the world’s largest nonprofit membership organization serving all individuals who create games. Find standards and resources here.

Resources:

Canadian Game Devs
Find news, podcasts, jobs and resources in Canadian game development here.
Game Developer
Includes a job board, daily news, developer blogs, and more.
Global Game Jam
Global Game Jam's mission is to empower all individuals worldwide to learn, experiment, and create together through the medium of games in a safe and welcoming environment. Similar to a hackathon, people come together for a short period of time to create games around a central theme revealed at the start of the event.
Interactive Ontario
Interactive Ontario is dedicated to the economic and creative growth of the Interactive Digital Media (IDM) industry in Ontario. Find industry resources and supports here.
The Lodgge
Ontario's home for video games and interactive entertainment. Find events, games, career opportunities, and game developer news here.
Ontario Creates: Interactive
Find supportive resources and programs, including funding and marketing supports, in this government-supported project.
Video Game Encyclopedia
Gamepressure's Games Encyclopedia brings detailed information on video games, including comprehensive descriptions, videos, screens, scores, and release dates.

Access:VFX
ACCESS:VFX is a global, industry-led, non-profit comprised of 40 leading companies, industry bodies and educational establishments in the VFX, animation and games industries. It focuses on actively pursuing and encouraging inclusion, diversity, awareness and opportunity under its four pillars of Inspiration, Education, Mentoring and Recruitment.
CGSociety
The CGSociety supports artists at every level by offering a range of services to connect, inform, educate and promote digital artists worldwide.
Motionographer
A key resource for visual storytellers to hone their craft, showcase their triumphs, and navigate the unique nature of the industry. Includes featured stories, interviews from professionals, job opportunities, and more.
The Rookies
Professional development resource to help you gain skills in digital art and VFX.
VFXWorld
Part of Animation World Network, VFXWorld covers trends, articles, interviews with professionals, and more.
Visual Effects Society
The Visual Effects Society (VES) is a global professional honorary society and the entertainment industry’s only organization representing the full breadth of visual effects practitioners.
Women in VFX
Women in Visual Effects is a portrait and video series aimed to highlight and advocate the talented women within the visual effects field of film and television.

Animation Mentor
Animation Mentor offers workshops tailored to your schedule and interests. Taught by industry professionals and award-winning artists, you’ll learn software basics and new skills from the best!
Coursera
Find and enrol in courses on animation and training on a variety of software platforms.
StudioBinder Resources
Find free and licensed resources to help develop your software skills.
Toon Boom Learn
If you want to improve your skills on Toon Boom software, you can take courses on Harmony and Storyboard Pro for free. Learn at your own pace, test your skills, and earn badges!