Meet with students in a small group to practice your listening and speaking skills.
Library Databases: News and Current Events
Canadian Newsstream (formerly Canadian Major Dailies)This link opens in a new window(ProQuest) Part of ProQuest Central. Canadian Newsstream provides access to 700 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers, including the Globe and Mail and the Toronto Star. This full-text database includes electronic compilations from most newspapers, providing access to articles, columns, editorials, and special publications from each. Some compilations date from the late 70s.
Canadian Points of ViewThis link opens in a new window(EBSCO) Provides access to essays with differing points of view on current issues. Essays include an overview, arguments, counter arguments and a guide to Critical Thinking.
Opposing Viewpoints in ContextThis link opens in a new window(Gale) Provides access to a comprehensive resource offering differing points of view on current social issues with pro and con articles, topic overviews and biographies of social activists.
Audio Cine FilmsThis link opens in a new window(Audio Cine Films) Feature films and documentaries from Universal, Disney, MGM, Sony Pictures, VVS Films, and Lionsgate among other film studios. - The vendor has indicated their platform works best with Google Chrome. You may use other browsers, but they may require 3rd party plug-ins. - Audio Cine videos will not display in classes delivered via MS Teams or Zoom. Share the link for the film instead, ask viewers to open another browser tab and view the film or scene, and then return to class in Teams or Zoom.
Can-Core Academic VideoThis link opens in a new window(McIntyre Media) Canadian video collection with content from CTV, BBC Learning, Blue Ant Media, Good Earth Productions, Passion River Films, and more.
Criterion on DemandThis link opens in a new window(Criterion Pictures) Full-length feature films and documentaries from studios such as Warner Brothers, 20th Century Studios, Searchlight, Paramount, Mongrel Media, CBS, and National Geographic, among others. - Please note that Criterion Pictures is different from “The Criterion Collection” titles that are found in Kanopy. - Criterion on Demand videos will not display in classes delivered via MS Teams or Zoom. Share the link for the film instead, ask viewers to open another browser tab and view the film or scene, and then return to class in Teams or Zoom.
Curio.ca (including CBC News in Review)This link opens in a new window(Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC)) Educational videos from CBC and Radio-Canada: documentaries from television and radio, news reports, archival material, stock shots and more. Our subscription includes selected, not complete, News in Review content only. - Faculty: For the ability to add videos to a playlist, you must set up a separate Curio account. Please e-mail librarians@senecapolytechnic.ca from your Seneca faculty e-mail account for instructions.
KanopyThis link opens in a new window(Kanopy) Full-length streamed videos including popular documentaries, feature films, and professional educational films covering the arts, business, education, global studies, health, media and communication, science, social science, and technical training.
- Users must create a separate Kanopy profile to use this service, using a Seneca Polytechnic email address to set up the account.
- Mobile access requires use of a separate Kanopy app.
- Kanopy videos will not display in classes delivered via MS Teams or Zoom. Share the link for the film instead, ask viewers to open another browser tab and view the film or scene, and then return to class in Teams or Zoom.
NFB.ca (National Film Board of Canada)This link opens in a new window(National Film Board of Canada) Public performance rights to selected films produced by the National Film Board of Canada. Documentaries, animations, alternative dramas, trailers, and interactive productions on the Web.
