LibGuides: Nursing: eBooks & Videos

New eResource

Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window
(Primal Pictures) A 3D atlas of human anatomy and physiological structures and processes. Click on body parts to get a description of them. Browsable by region of the body or system of the body, or search for a term or use the alphabetical Index. Setting up a separate Anatomy.TV profile is optional.
Details and Terms of Use

eBooks

NEW eBooks for Nursing
For new eBooks added to the collection, follow the link above; the list is updated on a continual basis.

JoVE Clinical Skills Videos

Nursing Skills
This collection demonstrates medication preparation and administration, with videos highlighting important safety checks, considerations, dosage calculations, and common mistakes associated with improper medication administration.
more...less...
Safety Checks and Five Rights of Medication Administration
Preparing and Administering Oral Tablet and Liquid Medications
Preparing and Administering Topical Medications
Preparing and Administering Inhaled Medications
Preparing and Administering Subcutaneous Medications
Preparing and Administering Intramuscular Injections
Preparing and Administering Enteric Tube Medications
Peripheral Intravenous Catheter Insertion
Assessing and Flushing a Peripheral Intravenous Line
Initiating Maintenance IV Fluids
Preparing and Administering IV Push Medications
Preparing and Administering Intermittent Intravenous Medications with an Infusion Pump
Preparing and Administering Secondary Intermittent Intravenous Medications
Discontinuing Intravenous Fluids and a Peripheral Intravenous Line
Central Venous Access Device Dressing Change
Physical Examinations I
This collection provides a foundation for performing physical exams; with techniques ranging from measuring blood pressure or vital signs, to key pulmonary and cardiovascular physical examinations.
more...less...
General Approach to the Physical Exam
Observation and Inspection
Palpation
Percussion
Auscultation
Proper Adjustment of Patient Attire during the Physical Exam
Blood Pressure Measurement
Measuring Vital Signs
Respiratory Exam I: Inspection and Palpation
Respiratory Exam II: Percussion and Auscultation
Cardiac Exam I: Inspection and Palpation
Cardiac Exam II: Auscultation
Cardiac Exam III: Abnormal Heart Sounds
Peripheral Vascular Exam
Peripheral Vascular Exam Using a Continuous Wave Doppler
Physical Examinations II
This collection is a specialized edition featuring methodologies and procedures associated with more sensitive and comprehensive physical exams such as HEENT exams, abdominal exams, and pelvic exams.
more...less...
Eye Exam
Ophthalmoscopic Examination
Ear Exam
Nose, Sinuses, Oral Cavity and Pharynx Exam
Thyroid Exam
Lymph Node Exam
Abdominal Exam I: Inspection and Auscultation
Abdominal Exam II: Percussion
Abdominal Exam III: Palpation
Abdominal Exam IV: Acute Abdominal Pain Assessment
Comprehensive Breast Exam
Pelvic Exam I: Assessment of the External Genitalia
Pelvic Exam II: Speculum Exam
Pelvic Exam III: Bimanual and Rectovaginal Exam
Physical Examinations III
This collection covers physical examination of two major systems in our body: neurological and musculoskeletal, with videos explaining relevant anatomy, the rationale behind the steps, and the interpretation of the exam findings.
more...less...
Cranial Nerves Exam I (I-VI)
Cranial Nerves Exam II (VII-XII)
Motor Exam I
Motor Exam II
Sensory Exam
Neck Exam
Shoulder Exam I
Elbow Exam
Wrist and Hand Examination
Lower Back Exam
Hip Exam
Knee Exam
Ankle Exam
Foot Exam
Emergency Medicine and Critical Care
This collection delves into a wide range of procedures employed in emergency and intensive care settings, ranging from basic life support methods such as CPR and rescue breathing to other common procedures performed during emergency situations.
more...less...
Basic Life Support: Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation and Defibrillation
Basic Life Support Part II: Airway/Breathing and Continued Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation
Pericardiocentesis
Lateral Canthotomy and Inferior Cantholysis
Percutaneous Cricothyrotomy
Open Cricothyrotomy
Needle Thoracostomy
Tube Thoracostomy
Intra-articular Shoulder Injection for Reduction Following Shoulder Dislocation
Arterial Line Placement
Intraosseous Needle Placement
Peripheral Venous Cannulation
Central Venous Catheter Insertion: Internal Jugular
Central Venous Catheter Insertion: Femoral Vein
Central Venous Catheter Insertion: Subclavian Vein
Coronavirus / COVID-19 Procedures
This collection demonstrates procedures for healthcare workers who are screening and treating patients for COVID-19/Coronavirus.
more...less...
COVID-19 / Coronavirus Outbreak:
Performing a Nasal Swab Test on Patients inside a Rapidly Deployable Facility Optimized for Epidemics
Donning and Doffing Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) for Healthcare Providers
Guidance for Hand Hygiene for Healthcare Providers to Ensure a Safe and Healthy Environment
A Rapidly Deployable Medical Facility Optimized for Epidemics (Smart Pod)
Protecting The Airway - Endotracheal Intubation
How To Perform A Bronchoscopy
How To Establish A Central Venous Access By Placing A Central Venous Catheter
Hemodynamic monitoring with PiCCO artery
How to take blood cultures
How to perform complete prone positioning in COVID-Patients
Donning Personal Protective Equipment Before Entering A Patient Room
Doffing Personal Protective Equipment When Exiting A Patient Room

Streaming Videos

Assessment of the Newborn : Gestational Age and Newborn Reflexes
Assessment of the Newborn : Head-to-Toe Assessment
Assessment of the Newborn : The First Ten Minutes
Clinical Skills (Kanopy) You must create an account with Kanopy to view videos on this platform.
Competent Care in a Culturally Diverse Nation Culturally competent care adapts care interventions to the cultural needs and preferences (ethnic and religious beliefs, values, and practices) of diverse clients. This program provides practical and effective methods for recognizing and dealing with the particular needs of clients coming from different cultures. Designated for 3 contact hours of continuing nursing education. An "Instructor's Guide" is linked beneath the video as a downloadable PDF.
LWW Health Library: Made Incredibly Easy! (Wolters Kluwer) Introductory resources for Nursing students including online versions of Wolters Kluwer's Made Incredibly Easy! book series as well as video resources, clinical case studies, and other supplemental content.
Nursing Skills Videos (Films on Demand)
Pediatric Nursing Videos (Films on Demand)
Safetyhub A collection of health and safety videos for employees and employers in various industries including construction, utilities, manufacturing, and office work.