LibGuides: Biology &amp; Biotechnology: Databases

Electronic journal articles, e-books and streamed videos can be found by searching the main library search box or by searching directly using the following databases. Click on the button beside each database to view a description of what it offers.

Alt HealthWatch This link opens in a new window (EBSCO) Provides information focusing on the many perspectives of complementary, holistic and integrated approaches to health care and wellness.
Details and Terms of Use
Applied Science and Technology Source This link opens in a new window (EBSCO) Provides comprehensive research, recent projects and case studies, and news information in all areas of applied science and technology.
Details and Terms of Use
Biological Science Database This link opens in a new window (ProQuest) Part of ProQuest Central. This interdisciplinary database provides abstracts and citations to a wide range of research in biomedicine, biotechnology, zoology and ecology and some aspects of agriculture and veterinary science. Drawing from more than two dozen areas of expertise, this database provides access to literature from more than 6,000 serials, as well as conference proceedings, technical reports, monographs, and selected books and patents.
Details and Terms of Use
General Science Collection This link opens in a new window (Gale) Provides access to a wide range of articles in science-related fields.
Details and Terms of Use
Health and Wellness Resource Center This link opens in a new window (Gale) Provides access to all levels of health research from specific technical topics to general interest subjects including medicine, nutrition and fitness.
Details and Terms of Use
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition This link opens in a new window (EBSCO) Provides access to information on many health topics including the medical sciences, nursing and allied health.
Details and Terms of Use
HighWire Press This link opens in a new window (Stanford University Libraries) Provides access to over 2 million free online full-text articles, primarily in the life and physical sciences and medicine.
Details and Terms of Use
MEDLINE This link opens in a new window (EBSCO) Provides access to information related to the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, the health care system and the pre-clinical sciences.
Details and Terms of Use
NRC Research Press This link opens in a new window (Canadian Science Publishing) Provides access to journals published by the National Research Council and affiliated publishers.
Details and Terms of Use
PLOS Journals: Public Library of Science This link opens in a new window (Public Library of Science) Peer-reviewed Open Access journals in the fields of science and medicine.
Details and Terms of Use
PubMed Central (PMC) This link opens in a new window (National Center for Biotechnology Information) PubMed Central is a free digital archive of over 2 million articles from biomedical and life science journal literature at the U.S. National Institutes of Health (NIH).
Details and Terms of Use
SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window (SAGE Publications) A collection of full-text online scholarly journals in the sciences, social sciences, and humanities. - Before running a search, check "Only content I have full access to" to retrieve only the content to which Seneca subscribes.
Details and Terms of Use
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window (Elsevier) Provides users with access to a wide range of journal articles and full-text e-books in Health and Life Sciences, Physical Sciences and Engineering, Computers and Technology, and the Social and Behavioural Sciences. - In this database, there is no way to limit a search to our subscribed content only. Only those results with the words "Full text access" or "Open access" are content to which we have access.
Details and Terms of Use
Science in Context This link opens in a new window (Gale) A multimedia approach to learning about popular science topics: news reports, journal and magazine articles, video, audio, photos, experiments, and reference materials.
Details and Terms of Use
Science Database This link opens in a new window (ProQuest) Part of ProQuest Central. For students learning general and applied science. Coverage dates back to 1986 for more than 1,030 titles, 760 of them full-text. It allows you to search over 2,700,000 records, dating back to the mid-1980s.
Details and Terms of Use

CRC ENGnetBASE (via Taylor & Francis eBooks) This link opens in a new window (Taylor and Francis / CRC Press) A collection of electronic handbooks in civil, mechanical, industrial, electrical, electronic, environmental, mining, and general engineering.
Details and Terms of Use
Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) This link opens in a new window (Various) A directory of free, academic, peer-reviewed books covering all subjects and many languages.
Details and Terms of Use
Ebook Central This link opens in a new window (ProQuest) Thousands of downloadable e-book titles covering all academic disciplines. - Titles may be single-user or multiple-user. Check the information in the "Availability" field of each record.
Users must have Adobe Digital Editions (free download) and a personal Adobe account in order to check out and download e-book titles for extended use. Many titles in this collection are one-copy/one-user-at-a-time titles that may be "signed out" for up to 21 days. Users may place a request for titles that are currently checked out by other users.
Details and Terms of Use
EBSCO eBook Collection This link opens in a new window (EBSCO) Provides access to a large collection of e-books in art, business, computer science, education, history, literature, health and medicine, law, and the humanities and social sciences. - Titles may be single-user or multiple-user. Check the information in the "Concurrent User Level" field of each record. NOTE: In February 2024, audiobooks formerly on this platform were moved to a different database Boundless Audiobooks from Baker & Taylor.
Users must set up their own "My EBSCOhost" account (free of charge) and also have Adobe Digital Editions (free download) and a personal Adobe account in order to check out e-book titles for extended use. Many titles in this collection are one-copy/one-user-at-a-time titles that may be "signed out" for up to 7 days. Users may place a request for titles that are currently checked out by other users.
Details and Terms of Use
Safari Books Online (also known as O'Reilly for Higher Education) This link opens in a new window (ProQuest / O'Reilly) Provides full-text access to thousands of e-books and videos in IT, Business, Math, Engineering, Design, and other topics. - If prompted for your 'Academic email' while in the Safari platform, enter your full Seneca Polytechnic e-mail address. If it does not work the first time, enter it a second time. If still unsuccessful, try a different browser.
Details and Terms of Use
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window (Elsevier) Provides users with access to a wide range of journal articles and full-text e-books in Health and Life Sciences, Physical Sciences and Engineering, Computers and Technology, and the Social and Behavioural Sciences. - In this database, there is no way to limit a search to our subscribed content only. Only those results with the words "Full text access" or "Open access" are content to which we have access.
Details and Terms of Use
Skillsoft Books (formerly known as Books24x7) This link opens in a new window (SkillSoft) Provides access to thousands of e-books in the fields of computer and information technology, business, and engineering (ITPro, BusinessPro, FinancePro, and EngineeringPro, respectively).
(NOTE: Only selected content from titles' companion CDs is available: "If a title has CD content available, a link to the content will be in the Table of Contents, as well as in appropriate chapters. Also, a direct link to any companion websites is available via the Companion Website tool for applicable titles.")
Details and Terms of Use

Curio.ca (including CBC News in Review) This link opens in a new window (Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC)) Educational videos from CBC and Radio-Canada: documentaries from television and radio, news reports, archival material, stock shots and more. Our subscription includes selected, not complete, News in Review content only. - Faculty: For the ability to add videos to a playlist, you must set up a separate Curio account. Please e-mail librarians@senecapolytechnic.ca from your Seneca faculty e-mail account for instructions.
Details and Terms of Use
Engineering Case Studies Online This link opens in a new window (ProQuest / Alexander Street Press) Analysis of notable engineering cases and failures throughout history, with information in video, photographic, and textual formats.
Details and Terms of Use
Films on Demand This link opens in a new window (Films Media Group / Infobase Learning) The Master Academic and Technical Education collections of educational and news films from Films Media Group and Infobase covering a wide range of subject matter. Studios represented include PBS, BBC, Films For Humanities & Sciences, National Geographic, TED, and others. - Users who wish to create Playlists, Favorites, and Preferences must set up their own Films on Demand account (separate from their Seneca User Name and Password) by clicking "Your Profile" and then "Sign up".
Details and Terms of Use
Kanopy This link opens in a new window (Kanopy) Full-length streamed videos including popular documentaries, feature films, and professional educational films covering the arts, business, education, global studies, health, media and communication, science, social science, and technical training. - Users must create a separate Kanopy profile to use this service, using a Seneca Polytechnic email address to set up the account. - Mobile access requires use of a separate Kanopy app. - Kanopy videos will not display in classes delivered via MS Teams or Zoom. Share the link for the film instead, ask viewers to open another browser tab and view the film or scene, and then return to class in Teams or Zoom.
Details and Terms of Use
LinkedIn Learning (formerly Lynda.com) This link opens in a new window (LinkedIn) Online video training tutorials on various topics, applications, and software packages including audio and video production, 3D animation, AutoCAD, Maya, web design, computer programming, and business and office applications. - Seneca students, faculty, and staff must first register to use this service by creating a separate LinkedIn Learning account through the "Login to LinkedIn Learning" link on the college's LinkedIn Learning page. - This product was acquired and licensed by Continuing Education, not Seneca Libraries. It is only on our site as a courtesy and research convenience.
Details and Terms of Use
Safetyhub This link opens in a new window (Safetycare) A collection of health and safety videos for employees and employers in various industries including construction, utilities, manufacturing, and office work.
Details and Terms of Use

Experiencing a technical issue with a database?

If so, please notify the library using the Report a Database Access Problem.