Skip to Main Content
My Library Account

Downloading E-Books: EBSCO

EBSCO

 

 

EBSCO eBook Collection is an eBook database, available to current Seneca students, faculty, and staff through Seneca Libraries (Seneca username and password required)

PLEASE READ THIS FIRST!!

  • To download an eBook from EBSCO, you must download a free app to your smartphone or device called Adobe Digital Editions (ADE)
  • You must also create a MyEBSCO account -- a free account that you must set up through EBSCO and that is separate from your Seneca account.

How to Download an eBook from the EBSCO eBook Collection on a computer

You may search for titles directly in the EBSCO eBook Collection database itself.

You may also search on the Seneca Libraries homepage:

  • In the search box, type the title of the book you want.

  • Click the link beside the photo of the book cover or click Click for Access Options below it to open the title record.

  • Under the Online Access Options heading, if available click EBSCO eBook Collection.

 

Once you are in the EBSCO eBook Collection database and in the record for a specific title:

  • Click Sign In toward the top-right of the screen and sign into MyEBSCO

  • Click the Full Download link within or next to the title

  • Select the borrowing period and, if given a choice, the format you would like, followed by checking the box next to "I have Adobe Digital Editions or equivalent installed"

  • Then click the blue "Full Download" button. An .acsm file for the title will be downloaded to your web browser's default location for Downloads.

Open Adobe Digital Editions on your computer:

  • In the top-menu bar, go to: File > Add to Library.
  • Navigate to the location of the .acsm file in the previous step and it will download the title content for the borrowing period you previously indicated.

----

Viewing your downloaded title on another device:

  • It is not required, but if you want the e-books you have downloaded to be available on up to 5 of your devices, you must:
    • Have Adobe Digital Editions on all of those devices
    • Create an Adobe ID and password
    • Authorize Adobe Digital Editions on each of the devices with that same Adobe ID and password.
  • The .acsm file you obtained in the steps above can then opened and added to Adobe Digital Editions on that device, as above, during the checkout and download period by going back to the EBSCO eBook Collection on that second device and signing into MyEBSCO to get the file. If you are still in your checkout and download period for your title, it is also theoretically possible to email the .acsm file to yourself and add it to your library within Adobe Digital Editions as above (File > Add to Library).

  • If you don't care about multiple devices and only want to view the e-books your have downloaded on your current device only, you may select "I want to authorize my computer without an ID" when prompted in Adobe Digital Editions.

  • See "How do I install and authorize Adobe Digital Editions?" for more information.

Troubleshooting

Reasons Why It May Not Work:

1) You don’t have the required software on your computer (see "PLEASE READ THIS FIRST!!")

2) You have not created a MyEBSCO account (see "PLEASE READ THIS FIRST!!")

3) You are trying to download a title that cannot be downloaded at all, or are trying to access a limited-user title that is in use by another user or users:

  • In EBSCO some 1-user titles cannot be downloaded at all. If there is a Full Download link, it will give the message "Sorry, this title is not available for download" but with an option to view the ebook online in HTML full-text.
  • Other titles are 1-user or 3-user titles that may be "checked out" and used by only one or three persons at a time. If you try to download a Limited User title that is currently checked out and downloaded use by someone else, a pop-up message will say, “Sorry, this eBook is in use” and you will be prompted to place a hold on it by signing into your MyEBSCO account. You will not be given the option to view the book online in full-text.

4) You are trying to download the title on a device that is not compatible with Adobe Digital Editions and .acsm files. Please check https://helpx.adobe.com/ca/digital-editions/kb/digital-editions-supported-devices.html to see if your device is supported.

iPhone? Android? A different device?

---------------

Moving between devices

To view a title that you downloaded on one device on multiple other devices (up to 5 of them) during your title's checkout and download period, you must have Adobe Digital Editions on all of them and you must authorize all of the devices with the same Adobe ID and password that you used on the first device.

It is highly recommended that if you are going to download EBSCO and Ebook Central titles often during your time at Seneca that you remember that information and authorize all of your common devices with that same Adobe ID and password.

That is also why this process is only for personal devices and not public computers at Seneca, because you will likely not have access to the same computer every time.

To authorize Adobe Digital Editions on your devices:

  • Go to https://account.adobe.com/ to create an Adobe ID and password. If you are entering a Seneca email address, it may say you already have an account through your school. Scroll down and set up a password for it there anyway. It will be your Adobe ID password for Adobe Digital Editions.
  • Open Adobe Digital Editions on each of the devices you want to authorize.
    • On Windows or Mac computers, go to Help in the menu bar and select Authorize Computer
    • In the app version on a phone or tablet, go to Settings and select AUTHORIZE
  • Enter your Adobe ID and password.

Note that none of this is required, but it is recommended. If you only want to view the e-books you have downloaded on your current device only, you may select "I want to authorize my computer without an ID" when prompted. However you will not be able to open the title on other devices if you want to do so after-the-fact.  

For more help with this please click here. https://connect.ebsco.com/s/article/How-do-I-install-and-authorize-Adobe-Digital-Editions?language=en_US

---------------

Phone not letting you download an eBook?

  • You may have to enable pop-up messages in your phone's Settings. The download prompts will use pop-ups.

 

For more help with EBSCO eBooks: