LibGuides: Environmental Technology & Environmental Technician : Standards & Codes

Standards & Codes

"A standard is a document that provides rules, guidelines or characteristics for activities or their results. Most standards aim to achieve an optimum degree of order in a given context. Standards are guidelines that establish accepted practices, technical requirements, and terminologies for diverse field." Standards Council of Canada

What are the various types of standards and the difference between standards and codes?

Organizations that develop standards are called standards developing organizations (SDOs) or standards setting organizations (SSOs). This includes committees, companies, government, organizations, trade associations and other groups.

Standards apply to everything from Christmas trees to cell phones and children's toys to medical scanners.

More information is available from the Government of Canada.

Understanding Standard Names and Numbers

Most standards follow a similar number format.
Format: ABC D123.56-07 ABC is the organization that developed the standard D is a broad subject category (not always present) 123.56 is a document/standard number 07 indicates the standard was approved in 2007	Example: CSA C22.1-18 CSA=Canadian Standards Association C22.1 Canadian Electrical Code Edition issued in 2018.
You might also see: ABC D123.56-95 R07 where the 1995 standard was reviewed in 2007 and determined that no changes were needed. Learn more: Primer on Engineering Standards

Most standards follow a similar number format.

Format:

ABC D123.56-07

ABC is the organization that developed the standard
D is a broad subject category (not always present)
123.56 is a document/standard number
07 indicates the standard was approved in 2007

Example:

CSA C22.1-18

CSA=Canadian Standards Association
C22.1 Canadian Electrical Code
Edition issued in 2018.

You might also see:

ABC D123.56-95 R07 where the 1995 standard was reviewed in 2007 and determined that no changes were needed.

Learn more: Primer on Engineering Standards

Acts and Law

Find Ontario E-Laws

Databases

CSA OnDemand This link opens in a new window
(Canadian Standards Association) Access to all Canadian Standards Association standards and codes across a number of industries, including CSA-adopted ISO documents and ICS Codes.

- Click "My Library" to see the content to which we have access.
- In this academic licence, printing of documents is not allowed, and "Download PDF" access is only available on-campus on the SenecaNET network, opening the file in Adobe Reader, and only for some of the documents (i.e., many major codes are excluded).
Self-registering for your own CSA account is optional, necessary only if you want to add notes or highlights within documents, choose a preferred language, copy-and-paste content, etc. However printing is still not available.
Details and Terms of Use
Techstreet Enterprise This link opens in a new window
(Techstreet) A collection of engineering standards from well-known testing and regulatory bodies such as ASHRAE, CSA, and ICC.

- Downloads from this database require you to have separate FileOpen software on your computer. Otherwise, you must click their "View Online" option.
Details and Terms of Use
NFPA Codes Online This link opens in a new window
(National Fire Protection Association) Provides users with electronic access to all Codes, Standards, and Handbooks from the (U.S.) National Fire Protection Association.

- As of September 2021, PDF downloading of content is no longer available in academic subscriptions, only viewing of documents within the platform.
Details and Terms of Use
OHSInsider This link opens in a new window
(Bongarde Media) Canadian occupational health and safety resources including policies, legislation, best practices, topic/issue discussion, advice, and news, at both the federal and provincial/territorial level.
Details and Terms of Use
CCOHS Academic Support Program This link opens in a new window
(Canadian Centre for Occupational Health and Safety) Portal for occupational health and safety information. Includes SDS (Safety Data Sheets) as well as access to CHEMINFO, RTECS, and regulations and standards.

- Please note that CHEMpendium, the MSDS Management Service (CANMANAGE), and Canadian EnviroOSH Legislation are not part of our subscription.
Details and Terms of Use
IEEE/IET Electronic Library (IEL) This link opens in a new window
(IEEE/IET) Provides access to technical literature in electrical engineering, computer science, and electronics published by the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and the Institution of Engineering and Technology (IET). Included are over 220 journals, magazines, and transactions from the two organizations, proceedings from over 1,800 IEEE annual conferences, and 4400 IEEE standards in key technology fields.
Details and Terms of Use

Other Standards & Codes Online at Seneca Libraries

2018 IgCC International green construction code : a comprehensive solution for high-performance buildings.
Access via TechStreet. No web browser pluggin required to view the file.
Canadian Electrical Code and Handbook
CSA C22.1-18. from TechStreet. Requires use of the OneFile Web Browser Pluggin to view the file.
Canadian Electrical Code and Handbook
CSA C22.1-18. Access via CSA OnDemand. Once logged in, search for the standard.
ISO 27500:2016: The human-centred organization - Rationale and general principles
ISO 55000:2014 Asset management : overview, principles and terminology
ISO 55001:2014 Asset management : management systems--requirements
ISO 55002:2018 Asset management : management systems : guidelines for the application of ISO 55001
National Building Code of Canada: 2020
National Energy Code of Canada for Buildings: 2020
National Plumbing Code of Canada: 2015
Ontario Building Code
Ontario Fire Code
Ontario Provincial Standards for Roads and Public Works
Standard specification for crosslinked polyethylene (PEX) hot- and cold-water distribution systems
Access via TechStreet. No web browser pluggin required to view the file.
Thermal environmental conditions for human occupancy : ANSI/ASHRAE Standard 55-2017.
Access via TechStreet. No web browser pluggin required to view the file.
Ventilation for acceptable indoor air quality : ANSI/ASHRAE standard 62.1-2019
Access via TechStreet. No web browser pluggin required to view the file.
ASTM Standard Test Method for Low Concentrations of Lead, Cadmium, and Cobalt in Paint by Atomic Absorption Spectroscopy: ASTM-D3335-85A(2020)
Access via TechStreet. No web browser pluggin required to view the file.

Codes at Seneca Libraries in Print

National Building Code of Canada
Call Number: REF KE5268 .N383 2022

National Energy Code of Canada for Buildings
REF KE5268 .C352 2022

National Fire Code of Canada
Call Number: TH9506 .A33 2010

National Plumbing Code of Canada
TH6225 .N3 2020

Ontario Building Code Compendium
Call Number: REF KEO923.A354 A2
Ontario Electrical Safety Code
Call Number: REF TK275 .O68 2018
Model Code for the Field Evaluation of Electrical Equipment
Call Number: TA404.C3 C32 no.SPE-1000-13

Request Online Access to Standards and Codes

Techstreet Enterprise This link opens in a new window
(Techstreet) A collection of engineering standards from well-known testing and regulatory bodies such as ASHRAE, CSA, and ICC.

- Downloads from this database require you to have separate FileOpen software on your computer. Otherwise, you must click their "View Online" option.
Details and Terms of Use

Contact James Buczynski to request a standard or code from Techstreet Enterprise.

Codes Canada Publications - Free Access via NRC Canada

In April 2019, the National Research Council of Canada began offering Codes Canada publications for free. This includes the National Building Code, Fire Code, Energy Code and Plumbing Code. Orders can be placed for downloadable PDFs through their Virtual Store. A registered account is required. https://nrc.canada.ca/en/node/770/

Learn More