LibGuides: Government Relations: Databases

Library Databases

Electronic journal, magazine and newspaper articles can be found via the main library search box or by searching directly using the following databases, resources and tools.

Article Databases

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) Part of ProQuest Central. Comprised of ABI/INFORM Global, ABI/INFORM Trade and Industry, and ABI/INFORM Dateline. The database features thousands of full-text journals, dissertations, working papers, key business and economics periodicals such as the Economist, country-and industry-focused reports, and downloadable data. Its international coverage gives researchers a complete picture of companies and business trends around the world.
Details and Terms of Use
Business Source Premier This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) Provides access to one of the industry's most used business research databases of magazines, journals, newspapers, reports, profiles, case studies, books and trade publications.
Details and Terms of Use
Canada's Information Resource Centre (CIRC) This link opens in a new window
(Grey House) Online access to 20 Grey House Reference titles: Canadian Almanac and Directory, Associations Canada, Financial Services Canada, Canadian Environmental Resource Guide, Canadian Parliamentary Guide, Governments Canada, Libraries Canada, Health Guide Canada, History of Canada, Canadian Who's Who, Major Canadian Cities, Careers & Employment Canada, Cannabis Canada, and various FP financial titles.
Details and Terms of Use
Canada in Context This link opens in a new window
(Gale) Provides access to Canadian content including biographies, news, essays and podcasts.
Details and Terms of Use
Canadian Business & Current Affairs Database This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) Part of ProQuest Central. Provides access to a broad range of Canadian magazines, newspapers, and journals.
Details and Terms of Use
Canadian Newsstream (formerly Canadian Major Dailies) This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) Part of ProQuest Central. Canadian Newsstream provides access to 700 Canadian newspapers from Canada's leading publishers, including the Globe and Mail and the Toronto Star. This full-text database includes electronic compilations from most newspapers, providing access to articles, columns, editorials, and special publications from each. Some compilations date from the late 70s.
Details and Terms of Use
Canadian Points of View This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) Provides access to essays with differing points of view on current issues. Essays include an overview, arguments, counter arguments and a guide to Critical Thinking.
Details and Terms of Use
Communication and Mass Media Complete (CMMC) This link opens in a new window
(EBSCO) Provides access to research in areas related to communication and mass media. Many journals have indexing, abstracts, and full-text from their first issues to the present.
Details and Terms of Use
Communications and Mass Media Collection This link opens in a new window
(Gale) Provides access to research in areas related to communications and mass media.
Details and Terms of Use
Directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) This link opens in a new window
(Various) Free, full-text, quality-controlled scientific and scholarly journals, covering all subjects and many languages.
Details and Terms of Use
Gale OneFile News (formerly Infotrac Newsstand) This link opens in a new window
(Gale) A database of over 2500 full-text newspapers, newswire services, and news program transcripts from Canada, U.S. and abroad.
Details and Terms of Use
MarketLine Advantage
Please see GlobalData Explorer under "G" (Vendor platform and database name change on April 1, 2024).
Media Names and Numbers This link opens in a new window
(Sources) This online resource gives instant access to up-to-date contact information for print and broadcast media outlets across Canada, searchable by media type, subject, geography, language, ownership, and spokesperson expertise.

- Our subscription is for up to 50 simultaneous users only.
Details and Terms of Use
Nexis Uni This link opens in a new window
(LexisNexis) A large multi-tiered database of thousands of sources including newspapers, journals, wire services, newsletters, company reports and SEC filings, case law, government documents, transcripts of broadcasts, and selected reference works.
Details and Terms of Use
Ontario Government Documents This link opens in a new window
(OurDigitalWorld) Provides access to thousands of government documents from the collection of the Ontario Legislative Library. Allows simple searching, or browsing by titles, by ministry/agency, authors, subjects, or years. Note this collection does not contain all Ontario government documents. Documents have been taken from publicly accessible government websites and may have been reformatted from their original format for archiving purposes.
Details and Terms of Use
Open Access Theses and Dissertations (OATD) This link opens in a new window
(Various) Advanced research and scholarship. Free to find, free to use. Records of graduate-level theses that are freely available online.
Details and Terms of Use
Passport GMID Academic (Global Market Information Database) This link opens in a new window
(Euromonitor International) Provides access to global market analysis with comprehensive coverage of industries, countries and consumer trends.
Details and Terms of Use
QP Briefing This link opens in a new window
(Toronto Star Newspapers) A news service monitoring political activity at Queen's Park and throughout the province of Ontario.

- If prompted to "Sign in" to read the full text of articles, enter your Seneca email address and follow the resulting steps.
- This product was acquired and licensed by the Department of Stakeholder Engagement and Business Development, not Seneca Libraries. It is only on our site as a courtesy and research convenience.
Details and Terms of Use
Scott's Directories: National Business This link opens in a new window
(Scott's Directories) Provides access to a comprehensive directory of Canadian businesses with more than 350,000+ contacts from manufacturing, government, medical and education sectors.

- Please note that all saved searches, downloads, and pick lists will be visible to all Seneca users.
Details and Terms of Use
WARC (World Advertising Research Center) This link opens in a new window
(World Advertising Research Center) Over 25 000 articles, case studies, research reports and summaries covering all areas of marketing communications (advertising, consumer research, brand management, product categories, media planning, etc.).

- Individual user login functionality and resulting customization is not available with academic accounts.
Details and Terms of Use

Government Relations

Library Databases

Article Databases

Electronic Journals, Magazines & Newspapers