LibGuides: Pharmaceutical Sciences: APA Citation

British Pharmacopoeia (BP)

Database Version:

References List	Ibuprofen tablets. (2023). In British Pharmacopoeia Commission (Ed.), British Pharmacopoeia (2024 ed.). Stationery Office. https://library.senecapolytechnic.ca/res/britannica_auth
In-Text Paraphrase	("Ibuprofen tablets," 2023)
In-Text Quote *	("Ibuprofen tablets," 2023)

* BP database entries do not include page numbers, so this information cannot be included within quoted in-text citations.

Print Version (using the latest edition we have in our print collection for this citation example):

References List	Ibuprofen tablets. (2009. In British Pharmacopoeia Commission (Ed.), British Pharmacopoeia (2010 ed., pp. 312-313). Stationery Office.
In-Text Paraphrase	("Ibuprofen tablets," 2009)
In-Text Quote	("Ibuprofen tablets," 2009, p. 313)

US Pharmacopeia - National Formulary (USP-NF)

Database Version:

References List	Acetaminophen capsules. (2023). In United States Pharmacopeial Convention Committee of Revision (Ed.), USP-NF Online (2023 ed.). United States Pharmacopeial Convention. https://seneca.sharepoint.com/sites/libraryresources/SitePages/Uspnf.aspx
In-Text Paraphrase	("Acetaminophen capsules," 2023)
In-Text Quote *	("Acetaminophen capsules," 2023)

* USP-NF Online database entries do not include page numbers, so this information cannot be included within quoted in-text citations.

Print Version (using the latest edition we have in our print collection for this citation example):

References List	Acetaminophen capsules. (2019). In United States Pharmacopeia Convention Committee of Revision (Ed.), United States Pharmacopeia - National Formulary (41st ed., p. 8). United States Pharmacopeial Convention.
In-Text Paraphrase	("Acetaminophen capsules," 2019)
In-Text Quote	("Acetaminophen capsules," 2019, p. 8)

Compendium of Pharmaceuticals & Specialties (CPS)

Print Version (using the latest edition we have in our print collection for this citation example):

References List *	Metamucil. (2021). In Compendium of Pharmaceuticals and Specialties (2021 ed., p. 189). Canadian Pharmaceutical Association.
In-Text Paraphrase	("Metamucil," 2021)
In-Text Quote	("Metamucil," 2021, p. 189)

* It is not necessary to include the editor in the citation for this resource because this resource was edited and published by the same association.

Consult Seneca Libraries' Online APA Citation Guide to:

Avoid plagiarism	Create reference list citations
Create in-text citations	View a sample APA paper
Learn about annotated bibliographies	Obtain live chat citation help

APA How-To Videos from Seneca Libraries:

• APA: What's New in APA 7?
• APA: What is APA? (7th edition)
• APA: Building a References List (7th Edition)
• Why Cite?

Destination Academic Integrity

Complete this interactive module to discover the supports and services that will
help you understand and practice academic integrity at Seneca.

Seneca's Plagiarism, Citation & Academic Integrity Tutorials & Badges

Plagiarism & Citation Tutorial Upon completion of this module, you will receive a link to apply for your Plagiarism & Citation badge from the college.

Integrity in Action Tutorial Upon completion of this module, you will receive a link to apply for your Integrity In Action badge from the college.

APA Publication Manual, 7th edition (cover image)

A Questions?

For additional assistance with APA citiation, start a live chat with a citation expert, or attend an
APA citation workshop.