Video Resources: Video Databases

(Aesthetic VideoSource) Over 90 full-length videos demonstrating techniques in esthetics, cosmetics, and spa therapies.

- Click the small "click here" link under "My Institution's Videos" in the database to see the full list of titles.
- Our subscription is for up to 350 simultaneous users only.

(Audio Cine Films) Feature films and documentaries from Universal, Disney, MGM, Sony Pictures, VVS Films, and Lionsgate among other film studios.

- The vendor has indicated their platform works best with the Google Chrome browser. You may use other browsers, but they may require 3rd party plug-ins.
- Audio Cine videos will not display in classes delivered via MS Teams or Zoom. Share the link for the film instead, ask viewers to open another browser tab and view the film or scene, and then return to class in Teams or Zoom.

(McIntyre Media) Canadian video collection with content from CTV, BBC Learning, Blue Ant Media, Good Earth Productions, Passion River Films, and more.

(Criterion Pictures) Full-length feature films and documentaries from studios such as Warner Brothers, 20th Century Studios, Searchlight, Paramount, Mongrel Media, CBS, and National Geographic, among others.

- This database seems to work best with the Microsoft Edge browser.
- Please note that Criterion Pictures is different from “The Criterion Collection” titles that are found in Kanopy.
- Criterion on Demand videos will not display in classes delivered via MS Teams or Zoom. Share the link for the film instead, ask viewers to open another browser tab and view the film or scene, and then return to class in Teams or Zoom.

(Canadian Broadcasting Corporation (CBC)) Educational videos from CBC and Radio-Canada: documentaries from television and radio, news reports, archival material, stock shots and more. Our subscription includes selected, not complete, News in Review content only.

- Faculty: For the ability to add videos to a playlist, you must set up a separate Curio account. Please e-mail librarians@senecapolytechnic.ca from your Seneca faculty e-mail account for instructions.

(Destination Development Association) A collection of videos and articles on the topics of branding, product development, funding, and marketing within the tourism industry.

- 1-User licence.
- Click the above link to get instructions on how to log into the vendor's site.

(ProQuest / Alexander Street Press) Analysis of notable engineering cases and failures throughout history, with information in video, photographic, and textual formats.

(Films Media Group / Infobase Learning) The Master Academic and Technical Education collections of educational and news films from Films Media Group and Infobase covering a wide range of subject matter. Studios represented include PBS, BBC, Films For Humanities & Sciences, National Geographic, TED, and others.

- Users who wish to create Playlists, Favorites, and Preferences must set up their own Films on Demand account (separate from their Seneca User Name and Password) by clicking "Your Profile" and then "Sign up".

(Informa / Game Developers Conference) GDC Vault is a collection of in-depth design, technical and inspirational talks, and slides from the influencers of the game development industry, taken from over 20 years of the worldwide Game Developers Conferences.

- Our subscription is for up to 50 simultaneous users only.
- Users must click Login [top right menu button] and select "Seneca Polytechnic" to access Members Only content. Please remember to logout when done.

(JoVE) Instructional videos and other teaching materials supporting the practice and theory of scientific experiments and procedures in Biology, Chemistry, Engineering, Environmental Sciences, Nursing (see Clinical Skills), Physics, and Psychology.

- NOTE: This database will no longer be available at Seneca Libraries after 31 December 2024.

(Kanopy) Full-length streamed videos including popular documentaries, feature films, and professional educational films covering the arts, business, education, global studies, health, media and communication, science, social science, and technical training.

- Users must create a separate Kanopy profile to use this service, using a Seneca Polytechnic email address to set up the account.
- Mobile access requires use of a separate Kanopy app.
- Kanopy videos will not display in classes delivered via MS Teams or Zoom. Share the link for the film instead, ask viewers to open another browser tab and view the film or scene, and then return to class in Teams or Zoom.

(LinkedIn) Online video training tutorials on various topics, applications, and software packages including audio and video production, 3D animation, AutoCAD, Maya, web design, computer programming, and business and office applications.

- Seneca students, faculty, and staff must first register to use this service by creating a separate LinkedIn Learning account through the "Login to LinkedIn Learning" link on the college's LinkedIn Learning page.
- This product was acquired and licensed by Continuing Education, not Seneca Libraries. It is only on our site as a courtesy and research convenience.

(Wolters Kluwer) Introductory resources for Nursing students including online versions of Wolters Kluwer's Made Incredibly Easy! book series as well as video resources, clinical case studies, and other supplemental content.

(National Film Board of Canada) Public performance rights to selected films produced by the National Film Board of Canada. Documentaries, animations, alternative dramas, trailers, and interactive productions on the Web.

(ProQuest) Part of ProQuest Central. Provides access to information from leading nursing and nursing related publications, as well as videos from Alexander Street Press' "Nursing Education in Video" series.

(Screenocean / Reuters) Stock news footage from over 130 years of history, for use in television, film, education, advertising, and more.

- Users may edit footage for length to combine it with other content, provided that they do not alter or distort the editorial meaning of the footage.

(ProQuest / O'Reilly) Provides full-text access to thousands of e-books and videos in IT, Business, Math, Engineering, Design, and other topics.

- If prompted for your 'Academic email' while in the Safari platform, enter your full Seneca Polytechnic e-mail address. If it does not work the first time, enter it a second time. If still unsuccessful, try a different browser.

(Safetycare) A collection of health and safety videos for employees and employers in various industries including construction, utilities, manufacturing, and office work.

(Smart Biology) Interactive 3D biology learning resources. Access to the titles LIFE (Units 1-4, All Chapters) and CELLS (Unit 1, Chapters 2 and 6).

(Stash Media) Thousands of motion design, animation, and VFX projects, including behind-the-scenes features, interviews with professionals, trends and techniques, advertising, brand films, music videos; and short films.

(Cannes Lions) Award-winning creative advertising campaigns from leading brands and agencies, and the work that went into their development. Includes industry analysis and insights, project background material, talks/discussions, and searching of campaigns by agency name, brand name, person, or topic.

- Users must register with their Seneca email address for a separate vendor login, and "Sign in" with it every time they go into the database.

(University of Fashion, Inc.) "The University of Fashion is the first and largest online fashion design video library in the world...hundreds of step-by-step video lessons teaching all aspects of fashion design...all the major fashion disciplines, e.g. draping, pattern making, fashion art, product development, CAD fashion art, sewing, CAD pattern making, fashion business, knits, accessories, lectures...organized by Beginner, Intermediate and Advanced."

- Users must read and adhere to the University of Fashion’s “Terms of use" and other legal notices shown on the bottom of the database’s homepage. University of Fashion is a trademark of University of Fashion, Inc.