LibGuides: Art: Find Databases & Articles

Journals and Magazines

3x3
Held in print at Seneca@York Library
African Arts
American Illustration
Held in print at Seneca@York Library.
Applied Arts Magazine
Held in print at Seneca@York Library.
Art Journal
Artmargins: Contemporary Central and Eastern European Visual Culture
Art Research Journal
Broken Pencil
Held in print at Seneca@York Library
Communication Arts
Held in print at Seneca@York Library.
Drawing.
Inks: Cartoon and Comic Art Studies
International Journal of Comic Art
Held in print at Seneca@York Library.
The Journal of Comics and Culture
Held in print at Seneca@York Library
Journal of Illustration
Society of Illustrators
Held in print at Seneca@York Library

Databases

American Illustration Collection This link opens in a new window
(Seneca Polytechnic) The American Illustration Collection includes over 4,000 drawings and paintings, roughly between the dates of 1850 and 1950. The bulk of the holdings highlight the years 1890-1930. The works include pen and ink, watercolor, wash and gouache, and oil paintings. The most prevalent publishers represented in this collection were Scribner and Sons, Century and Co., Harper Brothers, and P.F. Collier and Son. Although many of these illustrations appeared in books, most were from periodicals, notably Century Magazine, Harper's Magazine, St. Nicholas Magazine, Scribner's Magazine, Colliers, Success, Life, and Puck.
Details and Terms of Use
Anatomy.TV This link opens in a new window
(Primal Pictures) A 3D atlas of human anatomy and physiological structures and processes. Click on body parts to get a description of them. Browsable by region of the body or system of the body, or search for a term or use the alphabetical Index. Setting up a separate Anatomy.TV profile is optional.
Details and Terms of Use
Arts & Humanities Database This link opens in a new window
(ProQuest) Part of ProQuest Central. This database has hundreds of titles on art, architecture, design, history, philosophy, music, literature, theater and cultural studies.
Details and Terms of Use
Fine Arts Collection This link opens in a new window
(Gale) The Gale Fine Arts Collection provides access to scholarly journals and magazines that support research in areas including drama, music, art history, and filmmaking. The database emphasizes full-text content for publications included in the Wilson Art Index and RILM bibliography.
Details and Terms of Use
Getty Museum Collection This link opens in a new window
(Getty) Over 80,000 public domain visual art images under a Creative Commons Zero (CC0) licence: "...users can download, edit, and repurpose high resolution images of their favorite Getty artworks without any legal restrictions."
Details and Terms of Use
The Met Open Access Collection This link opens in a new window
(Metropolitan Museum of Art) Over 375,000 public domain images of art, sculpture, and objects from the museum, licensed under a Creative Commons Zero (CC0) licence. CC0 allows anyone to use, re-use, and remix a work without restriction.
Details and Terms of Use
Photo Stock Collection This link opens in a new window
(First Light) Provides access to digital photographs from Image Source organized by subjects/themes: Business, Creative, Nature, People, Science, and Travel.
It is acceptable for Seneca users to download images from the collection and incorporate them into their schoolwork or Seneca materials only. Including that schoolwork in a graduates portfolio is also acceptable. However, commercial re-use of the images, be it during or after ones time at Seneca, is not permitted, nor is sharing images with those outside of the college.

Usage of the electronic products is monitored by Seneca Polytechnic, and where incidents are found to be in violation of this agreement, the College will exercise its rights to take appropriate disciplinary action, as set forth in Seneca's Information Technology Acceptable Use Policy.
Details and Terms of Use
Pop Culture Universe This link opens in a new window
(Bloomsbury / ABC-CLIO) A digital library of information and book content on American and world popular culture, past and present. Useful for research on the history, events, trends, and fads of specific decades or historical eras.
Details and Terms of Use

Search Seneca Libraries

Add topic keywords into the search box and press enter.

Some subject terms to try:

Advanced Search

Looking for a specific resource or have a suggestion? Submit a recommendation for library purchase using this form.
For additional support book a one-on-one Research Appointment

Search for a Specific Magazine, Newspaper or Journal

Looking for a specific magazine or journal article? Try our Journal Search!

Finding Journal and Magazine Articles

Electronic databases include collections of resources, ranging from images and videos to articles from magazine, newspapers, and journals. They are excellent sources to find archives of published materials, most of which are not available for free online. The databases listed below have been selected by librarians for finding relevant research and project materials for AFD students.

Journals and magazines publish subject-specific information, and are a great place to browse or to simply search for information based on your program area. The journals and magazines listed below have been specifically selected as relevant for programs in the School of Creative Arts and Animation, and include archives of issues with articles and images that may be useful for your assignments.