LibGuides: Chemical &amp; Physical Properties: APA Citation

CRC Handbook

Database Version:

References List	Acetone.(2023). In J. Rumble (Ed.), CRC handbook of chemistry and physics online (104th ed.). CRC Press. https://library.senecapolytechnic.ca/res/crc_chemistry_physics
In-Text Paraphrase	("Acetone," 2023)
In-Text Quote *	("Acetone," 2023)

* CRC Handbook database entries do not include page numbers, so this information cannot be included within quoted in-text citations.

Print Version (using the latest edition we have in our print collection for this citation example):

References List	Acetone. (2023). In J. Rumble (Ed.), CRC handbook of chemistry and physics (104th ed., pp. 3-4). CRC Press.
In-Text Paraphrase	("Acetone," 2023)
In-Text Quote	("Acetone," 2023, p. 3)

Merck Index

Database Version:

References List *	Zinc. (2023). In Royal Society of Chemistry (Ed.), The Merck index online. Merck & Co Inc. https://library.senecapolytechnic.ca/res/merck
In-Text Paraphrase	("Zinc," 2023)
In-Text Quote *	("Zinc," 2023)

* Merck Index database entries do not include page numbers, so this information cannot be included within quoted in-text citations.

Print Version (using the latest edition we have in our print collection for this citation example):

References List	Zinc. (2006). In M.J. O'Neil (Ed.), The Merck index: An encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals (14th ed., p. 12). Merck & Co.
In-Text Paraphrase	("Zinc," 2006)
In-Text Quote	("Zinc," 2006, p. 12)

Knovel Critical Tables

Online Version:

References List	Iron. (2008). In Knovel critical tables (2nd ed.). https://app.knovel.com/web/toc.v/cid:kpKCTE000X
In-Text Paraphrase	("Iron," 2008)
In-Text Quote *	("Iron," 2008)

* Knovel Critical Tables Online entries do not include page numbers, so this information cannot be included within quoted in-text citations.

CCOHS (Material) Safety Data Sheets

Online Version:

References List *	Fisher Scientific. (2018). Potassium flouride [Safety data sheet]. https://library.senecapolytechnic.ca/res/msds
In-Text Paraphrase	(Fisher Scientific, 2018)
In-Text Quote	(Fisher Scientific, 2018,. p. 3)

* In the above example, Fisher Scientific is the name of the manufacturer / supplier. Date information can be found at the bottom of each record - see Date of (M)SDS.

Consult Seneca Libraries' Online APA Citation Guide to:

Avoid plagiarism	Create reference list citations
Create in-text citations	View a sample APA paper
Learn about annotated bibliographies	Obtain live chat citation help

APA How-To Videos from Seneca Libraries:

• APA: What's New in APA 7?
• APA: What is APA? (7th edition)
• APA: Building a References List (7th Edition)
• Why Cite?

Destination Academic Integrity

Complete this interactive module to discover the supports and services that will
help you understand and practice academic integrity at Seneca.

Seneca's Plagiarism, Citation & Academic Integrity Tutorials & Badges

Plagiarism & Citation Tutorial Upon completion of this module, you will receive a link to apply for your Plagiarism & Citation badge from the college.

Integrity in Action Tutorial Upon completion of this module, you will receive a link to apply for your Integrity In Action badge from the college.

APA Publication Manual, 7th edition (cover image)

A Questions?

For additional assistance with APA citiation, start a live chat with a citation expert, or attend an
APA citation workshop.

Need to Cite Chemical Tables?

Citing Chemical Tables
For step-by-step instructions on how to cite chemical tables, consult the Citing Images, Infographics, Charts, Tables & Graphs category of Seneca's APA Citation Guide.